Practically perfect

It’s more than ten years later, and I still remember the comment. It was a first year lecture course held in the largest lecture theatre on campus: the capacity was over 600. During one of his lecturers, the professor commented on Kirsten Dunst. She was “practically perfect in every way.” Cute, sexy, perfect. I have no idea why Kirsten Dunst came up, or how she was at all relevant. She probably wasn’t. Kirsten Dunst is my age, and I was 18 at the time. What I do remember is that in front of a room of 100s of us, teenagers and his students, my professor had just professed a sexual attraction, and a sexual attraction to someone who was our age. I couldn’t articulate at the time why the comment made me so uncomfortable, but I still remember it.

Leave a Reply

