Cultural Studies?

Cultural Studies MA. I open the course outline for my first core module. I find: Foucault, Deleuze, Benjamin, Heidegger, Agamben, Badiou. White men, every one. Mostly dead.

Surely this is a mistake, I think.

I turn to the course outline for my second core module. I find: Kant, Marx, Husserl, Benjamin, Nietzsche, Freud.

Cultural Studies in 2014: a field populated by white, male continental philosophers? You’re sure no one else has anything to say?

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

