Warm welcomes

I turned up in the department, barely out of my teen years. My prof eyed me over at the bar, first thing. Welcome to your MA! He bought me a beer, snuck a hand round my waist, uninvited.

By the end of the night, as I left with a friend, he was bold enough to ask if I was going to have sex with him. I didn’t answer, just stared back, too shocked to respond.

I asked a new friend I made a few weeks later. He’d been in the department for awhile already. He wasn’t surprised. He told me, yes, that’s just how it went. That was just how young female students were treated here. Everyone knew it, everyone put up with it.

Welcome to Graduate School.

Leave a Reply

