An old white man

I had a not-great experience with my (older white male) supervisor in Honours and it’s really put me off academia.  He never harassed me, or was even overtly unkind, but he never took my ideas seriously.  I was assigned to him without knowing him, and a little research told me he was intensely xenophobic, but a request to be transferred to another supervisor was met with resistance and I gave up.  Because I wasn’t willing to go along with his extremely racist ideas, and didn’t feel like my arguments were making any changes in his opinion, I haven’t contacted him since I submitted my thesis.  Now I don’t have the networks and mentors everybody in academia assumes I have.  I constantly question my ability and whether my ideas have worth.  If I could go back in time, I’d tell myself to on no account accept an old white man as a supervisor.

Leave a Reply

